The Prayer

She sat on the steps of her front porch and lit a cigarette.  She inhaled greedily and raised her eyes to the starless sky.  Sometimes she missed stars.  The price you pay to live in the city.

“God,” she began in a soft shaky voice that was slurred with whiskey, “What the fuck am I doing? I’m 25 years old, a fuckin bartender, no kids, no man.  I have three degrees I can’t do shit with.  I’m a god damned alcoholic.  I cant keep doing this but”

Tears began to slide down her cheeks as she choked on her words

“I don’t know what to do. Please. Help me. I don’t know what the fuck to do.”

She wiped away her tears and finished her cigarette.  Then she stumbled to her room, poured herself another shot, and cried herself to sleep.

Leave a Reply

